Staring at fence posts

Flanders Moss NNR

I have recently spent a day staring at fence posts on the Moss. The reason why is detailed in a separate blog post here. But if put to someone that this is what they are going to do for a day they might have the same thoughts as if they were asked to watch paint dry. Especially when by the end of the day about 1400 fence posts had to be be stared at.

But actually it was an absolute joy. And apart from sending my old eyes slightly wonky by the end of the day I would have be happy to look at more.

Because most of the fence posts were very old. By the look of them 50 + years old. And so they had been colonised by miniature forests of lichen making them just beautiful to look at. I am afraid that I don’t know how many or what species of lichen except that some were Cladonia sp. But that didn’t really matter. So with no more to say, here are some close-ups of fence posts.

And it wasn’t just the lichen jungles. There were other very small inhabitants – all on the south side of the posts soaking up the Spring sun’s rays. Again I don’t know the names of them all but for once it doesn’t matter. Enjoy.

So if you have some spare time and there is a fence line nearby why not have a bit of a stare? It could be quite nice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Staring at fence posts

  1. colinshep1958 says:

    Great blog post on posts! Love this examination of the small scale in nature. Amazing photos too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Susan Webster says:

    Brilliant. I love the tiny jungles, we need to stop and look more.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anne says:

    This is right up my alley for old fence posts have long been an interest of mine. Your photographs are both beautiful and very interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. peigimccann says:

    Thanks for this interesting blog. I share your fascination with old fence posts. Not only for lichens but for actual trees that grow in their hollow tops! I also enjoy seeing which lichens such as what we call British soldiers (Cladonia) are circumboreal as I see them growing on coast redwoods out here in California!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. julietwilson says:

    Brilliant! I also love staring at old fence posts though my photos are never this good!

    Juliet
    http://craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment